Corinthia Hotel London

Shortlist announced for London Press Club’s annual awards

The shortlists for the London Press Club awards are announced today.

The four competing for the national newspaper of the year are:
Daily Mirror, The i, The Financial Times, The Times.

Nominated for the Sunday Newspaper of the Year award are:
The Mail on Sunday, The Observer, The Sunday Telegraph, The Sunday Times.

There are four nominations for the Scoop of the Year. They are:
The Daily Telegraph, for England manager for sale;

Daniel Taylor in The Guardian, for sexual abuse in Football;

Matt Lawton in the Daily Mail, for Sir Bradley Wiggins and banned substances;

Nick Dorman, The Sunday Mirror, for MP Keith Vaz and prostitutes.

The winners will be announced along with the prestigious Londoner of the Year and other awards at the London Press Club Annual Lunch at the Corinthia Hotel in Whitehall on Thursday 27 April.



Print Journalist of the Year nominees Sarah Sands and Dan Wootton

The keynote speech will be given by the Lord Speaker, The Rt Hon. Lord Fowler. The host for the awards will be BBC journalist and news presenter Kate Silverton.

At the lunch, winners will also be announced for print, digital, broadcast and business journalist of the year.

Chairman of the judges Bill Hagerty said: “From Brexit to Trumpism, from fake news and alternative facts to real politics and genuine dramas at home and abroad… 2016 delivered mightily across all platforms. No surprise, then, that the standard of journalism considered by the judges was in their opinion as high as it has ever been.”

The London Press Club Awards is always a sell-out event, so you are advised to book your places straightaway.
With editorial budgets tighter than ever, prices have been held once again and tables of 10 can be booked for £1,600 and individual places for £160, or £150 for  London Press Club members.  All prices exclude VAT.  Please book a table or tickets via email to or

Broadcast Journalist of the Year nominees, Emily buy provigil amazon Maitlis and Kay Burley

London Press Club chairman Doug Wills said: “The industry’s support of the London Press Club is hugely appreciated.  It’s been another successful year with marvellous support from members at more high-profile club events than ever. In a phenomenal news year, these have ranged from debates on Section 40 and Freedom of the Press to the risks of front-line reporting in today’s conflict zones.

“On the social side, there were regular forums at the Corinthia Hotel including one on artificial intelligence and another on a study of why journalists cope better with stress than other professionals. The highlight event was The Press Ball at the Victoria and Albert Museum which raised £20,000 for the Journalists’ Charity.

“We are looking forward to the awards when the industry can celebrate the best of a great year of superb journalism.”

Print Journalist of the Year nominee Ian Hislop

London Press Club Annual Lunch Awards at the Corinthia Hotel, Whitehall Place, Whitehall, SW1A 2BD on Thursday 27 April. Champagne reception from 12.30, lunch and awards in the Ballroom from 12.45pm.

The full details of the LONDON PRESS CLUB AWARDS FOR 2016 are:

Daily Newspaper of the Year

Daily Mirror

The i newspaper

The Financial Times

The Times

Sunday Newspaper of the Year

The Mail on Sunday

The Observer

The Sunday Telegraph

The Sunday Times

Print Journalist of the Year

Ian Hislop, Private Eye

Sarah Sands, London Evening Standard

Dan Wootton, The Sun

Business Journalist of the Year

Simon Goodley, The Guardian

Deirdre Hipwell, The Times

Oliver Shah, The Sunday Times

Broadcast Journalist of the Year

Kay Burley, Sky News

Michael Crick, Channel 4 News

Emily Maitlis, Newsnight, BBC

Digital Journalist of the Year

Jon Laurence,

Lara O’Reilly,

Andrew Sparrow,

Scoop of the Year

The Daily Telegraph, England manager for sale

Nick Dorman, The Sunday Mirror, MP Keith Vaz and prostitutes

Matt Lawton, Daily Mail, Sir Bradley Wiggins and banned substances

Daniel Taylor, The Guardian, Sexual abuse in football


Edgar Wallace Trophy for writing or reporting of the highest quality

To be named on the day of the awards

Related Post

There are 1 comments

  1. Pingback: Mirror, FT, Times and i shortlisted by London Press Club as daily newspaper of the year – Press Gazette

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.