Awards Shortlist Announced


The London Press Club today (April 8) announces the shortlist for its prestigious annual Awards.  The winners will be announced at the London Press Club Awards Lunch on Tuesday 30 April.  The keynote speaker at the lunch will be BBC journalist Nick Robinson.  BBC news journalist and Strictly Come Dancing contestant Kate Silverton will compere the Awards Lunch which will be held at Stationers & Newspaper Makers Hall near St Paul’s. 

The identity of the winner of The Londoner of the Year Award will be revealed at the Awards Lunch.  Previous winners have included Her Majesty The Queen, Lord Coe, Andrew Lloyd Webber, Paula Radcliffe and last year the Award was presented posthumously to PC Keith Palmer who died in the Westminster terror attack.  It was received on his behalf by Metropolitan Police Commissioner Cressida Dick and Mayor of London Sadiq Khan.


The shortlist is:

Daily Newspaper of the Year – sponsored by Just Eat

Evening Standard

The Sun

Financial Times

The Times

Sunday Newspaper of the Year – sponsored by Just Eat

The Observer

Sunday Mirror

The Sunday Times

Business Journalist of the Year – sponsored by Cision

Jim Armitage, Evening Standard

Madison Marriage, Financial Times

Mark Kleinman, Sky News

Broadcast Journalist of the Year – sponsored by Associated British Ports

Channel 4 News Investigative Team

Clive Myrie, BBC News

Katya Adler and Laura Kuenssberg, BBC News

Digital Journalist of the Year – sponsored by Google

Bellingcat Investigative Team

Daniel Adamson and Aliaume Leroy, Africa Eye, BBC

Maeve McClenaghan, Bureau Local

Print Journalist of the Year – sponsored by Madison Square Garden Company

Alison Phillips, Daily Mirror

Amelia Gentleman, The Guardian

Sean O’Neill, The Times

Scoop of the Year

Cambridge Analytica Investigation, The Observer

The John Worboys Campaign, The Sun

The Windrush Scandal, The Guardian

Londoner of the Year

To be announced on the day

Edgar Wallace Award for writing or reporting of the highest quality

To be announced on the day


The London Press Club is grateful to those companies who have sponsored this year’s Awards:


Richard Dymond

Honorary Treasurer and Director of the London Press Club and the London Press Club Ball.

Related Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.