Shortlist announced for Press Club Awards

The London Press Club today announces the shortlist for its annual Awards.  The Awards will be presented at the London Press Club Awards Lunch on Tuesday 1 May at Stationers’ Hall, Ave Maria Lane, London, EC4M 7DD.

The shortlist details for the Awards categories are:

Business Journalist of the Year (Sponsored by eToro)
Iain Dey, The Sunday Times
Martin Lewis,
Ruth Sunderland, The Mail on Sunday

Broadcast Journalist of the Year (Sponsored by Associated British Ports)
Katya Adler, BBC Europe editor
Kay Burley, Sky News
Laura Kuenssberg, political editor, BBC news

Digital Journalist of the Year (Sponsored by Google)
Heidi Blake,
Matt Chorley, editor, Times Red Box
Jonathan Liew, chief sports writer, The Independent

Print Journalist of the Year (Sponsored by The Madison Square Garden Company)
Matthew D’Ancona, columnist, The Guardian, London Evening Standard
Tim Shipman, political editor, The Sunday Times
Janice Turner, The Times

Scoop of the Year
The Sun: ‘Pestminster – Westminster sex pests’, Harry Cole and Tom Newton Dunn
Daily Telegraph: Prince Harry interview, Bryony Gordon
The Times: ‘Facebook child porn’, Alexi Mostrous

Daily Newspaper of the Year (Sponsored by Cision)
Daily Mail
The Times

Sunday Newspaper of the Year
The Mail on Sunday
Sunday Mirror
The Sunday Times

Bookings are now being taken for the Awards on 1 May at Stationers’ Hall.  They will begin with a reception at 12:30 followed by the Lunch and Awards beginning at 1pm.  THIS EVENT IS NOW SOLD OUT.

June Sarpong [Pic Credit: Dave Benett]

Broadcaster and author June Sarpong will be the compere.

Last year the Times and Sunday Times were the winners of Daily Newspaper and Sunday Newspaper of the Year.  Print Journalist of the Year was Ian Hislop.

At last year’s Awards Her Majesty the Queen was awarded Londoner of the Year in recognition of her special anniversary year.  The Duke of York received the Award on her behalf.  Previous recipients have included Lord Coe for successfully bringing together the London Olympics and Lord Lloyd-Webber for his services to the West End and the Arts in London schools.

This year’s Londoner of the Year and the Edgar Wallace Award for outstanding writing or reporting of the highest quality will be announced at the Awards.

Richard Dymond

Honorary Treasurer and Director of the London Press Club and the London Press Club Ball.

Related Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.